Send notes privately with Privnote

screenshot of Privnote

Email is forever. Once you write an email and send it, you can safely assume that it will exist in some form forever. Even if you delete it from the sending machine, and the recipient deletes it on the receiving end, there are enough servers that have passed it along that you're going to find it living out there somewhere. And we all know how easy it is forward an email—just check out all the spam messages that have been forwarded to you lately.

Privnote is a free service that makes it a little easier to control who reads your messages. Rather than sending an email directly to your intended recipient, you enter your message into a form on the Privnote site, and they in turn give you back a URL to send to your recipient. The fun thing here is that this link allows them to access your message one time only—once they've seen it, it goes away. It's almost like a Mission: Impossible message that self-destructs in five seconds. And since it's not an email, it's impossible to be forwarded.

Now of course, for the message to be seen—even once—it has had to sit on Privnote's server, so you'll want to be careful what you say, because they don't claim that your words aren't going to end up in one of their log files somewhere down in the guts of their network, but you are certainly limiting your words' exposure by not including them in the regular email stream out there.

Privnote is a free online service.

Download Privnote

3 Responses to “Send notes privately with Privnote”

  1. Hi,

    You might want to read Privnote’s Privacy Policy: https://privnote.com/privacy/ to find out the measures we take to protect the privacy of our users.

    Thanks!

    The Privnote Team

  2. splitDiff says:

    Very slick. Could be an interesting component in a multi-factor authentication scheme or a way to conclusively prove that someone “got there first.” Thanks for the link.

    -John

  3. David says:

    I may be missing something here, but what`s to stop the recipient copying and pasting it to an outgoing mail and THEN forwarding it to all and sundry? I tried it myself and I see the following:”This note has been destroyed, so if you want to keep its content, you must copy it before closing this page.” Surely that defeats the object of having it destroyed?